top of page

ORGANIC HOMEGROWN ECSTASY - My Beautiful Compost

Updated: Jul 5, 2022

Today my endorphins were on overdrive, I was delighted, amazed, and in love with the Black Gold that mother nature and I created. Every push of the shovel easily slid into the side of my 4 year-old compost pile. Gardening ecstasy!

Satisfaction beyond words!!




It was like a dense dark chocolate torte. Delicious goodness for my baby vegetables.

The cherry on top - worms. Lots and lots of worms.




This is the first time I've really dug into my honey pot. Wow! I was like a kid on Christmas morning. Especially after having been disappointed with the bagged potting mixes recently. Did I mention, that I LOVE this compost?


Everything from grass clippings and leaves, to vegetable scraps and coffee grounds, corn stalks and dandelions.

Composting is easy!

I turn it occasionally and fluff up the piles of grass clippings. This spring, I even tossed a little nitrogen in the pile when I was conditioning my straw bales for planting. Last summer, I watered it during a drought. When autumn arrives I gather leaves and grass clippings. In spring I cut down my dead stalks, break them up and add them to the pile with new grass clippings.


TIME SAVING TIP: Adding clippings and yard waste to the compost pile is much easier than dumping the grass bags in the dumpster. Even if you have a lawn service, you can request them to add to your compost pile when needed.


Sticky but light.

Check out the texture of this beautiful black dirt. Perfect for planting the new cucumber seedlings and adding to my garden beds.





TIME SAVING TIP: Use a sled to easily prepare and transport your new soil.


The shovel slid in and it came out in clumps, sticky but light, unlike the clay and rocks I'm used to digging in. I had to break it up without killing any worms. So I used my hands instead of the spade. I found a few random roots, but was easily able to pull them aside with a gardening fork.


Working this soil was definitely a delightful and sensual experience.

I know I'm not the only gardener in the world that gets excited about rich dirt!

And I was truly excited and in my happy zone.


True confessions: I do have one regret. I wished I would have used it when I planted my tomatoes last week. You can be sure, I'll be cultivating some of this nutrient rich soil into the dirt around my existing plants.


I've never really used fertilizers, much. I trust nature will do her thing and I really can't be bothered with it. However, this compost is my kind of fertilizer!

Organic Homegrown Ecstasy!



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page