top of page

Natural Garden hacks for weeds

Those pesky weeds... Time consuming, pain in the back, never-ending task that just about got the best of me this year, while I was busy with a client's garden.


The weeds were taking over my beets, not to mention the flower beds and veggie garden.


Poor beets, they didn't have a chance without some TLC. Fortunately, I was excited to try out the new Cobrahead weeding tools I had won at the #GardenBloggersFling2022


The 5' handle promised to save my back and the mini version hand tool was best for detail work. The slim single tine was perfect.




Ahhhhhhh... room to grow!



#Cobrahead Saved My Garden!

Cobrahead was invented by fellow Wisconsin gardener, Noel Valdes. I had heard rave reviews about this tool from two other professional gardeners and when raffle time came, I had my fingers crossed that I would win.


Cobrahead was one of the main sponsors of the Garden Bloggers Fling.

THANK YOU! Works like a charm.

You can find these tools here https://www.cobrahead.com/


HOW TO GET RID OF WEEDS GROWING IN YOUR CONCRETE CRACKS - Easy

Ditch the Round Up and use this simple and safe ingredient instead.

Boiling Water.



Chemical-free weed killer

Within two hours of pouring boiling water over these weeds, the fried roots showed signs of death. A few days later, I cleared the debris and hit them again with another dose of boiling water.


I swept the debris out and pulled whatever root stems were left and hit it once again with boiling water - just in case the seeds or roots even considered sprouting!

I did the same thing with my patio paver weeds as well as along the foundation of my garage/sidewalk. I love this natural method of weed removal and even boiled some bindweed to death!


MULCH - What works for you?

I've never really been a fan of bagged mulch from the big box stores. I'm convinced that's where the earwigs came from in my garden. This summer, I didn't have enough straw to smother the weeds, so out of convenience I bought bagged mulch and used it on my flower beds. In some areas I laid down plain tapeless cardboard or newspaper first and piled mulch on top.


I also use grass clippings, but I worry that the weed seeds will just continue to take root. I had considered using Preen a per-emergent which inhibits seeds from sprouting. Unfortunately, the weeds that plague me are bindweed, flea bane, thistles and prickly lettuce, which aren't listed as weeds this cornmeal based weed control prevents.


As an organic gardener, it's important to me to save the bees, birds and butterflies. I can't justify allowing toxic chemicals to leech into our waters or harm our soil, wildlife or humans. So I'll use my tea kettle, Cobrahead and straw and stay on top of it as best I can!


Aside from chemicals, what is your best weed control tip?


53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page