top of page

Growing Sweet Potatoes in Straw

I love clothes pins,

They're nostalgic for me.

Memories of hanging sheets

in the summer breeze.

Perfect dreams,

peaceful sleep.


They keep chips fresh

and seed packs clamped.

They tighten straw bales

from last years beans

for roots needing space

for a potato that's sweet.


USING SECOND YEAR STRAW BALES FOR ROOT VEGETABLES

I love Straw Bale Gardening! This bale was used for bush beans last year. Second Year Straw is great for root vegetables. I was planning on breaking up this bale to use on the watermelon patch and mulch, but they held up well over the winter.

When I inherited some sweet potato slips, I squished and tightened the strings. I had an old solar light, which wasn't a great solution, because it was quite long.


Aha! My favorite household object. A clothes pin! I had these old school non-spring style pins that were too tight for my clothes line, but work like a charm to tighten the strings on the bales,

Mushrooms and columbine came up

The sweet potato slips, had been sitting in water too long and needed nutrients.

Dig a whole in the straw

Add soil & plant. I added a little epsom salt.

Harvest will be easy and damage free. I can't wait to see it grow up the wall.

I also planted a slip in a small grow bag and one in a pot. Hopefully, I will have some pretty plants and plenty of sweet potatoes for my root cellar!

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page