top of page

The easy part of Gardening is dreaming about it

I'm happy to sit inside on a chilly January day and dream about my plans for the upcoming gardening season. Will artichokes grow in Wisconsin...? Finding the perfect eggplant variety is a delightful quest. I'd rather be plotting and planning, than researching pest control or end blossom rot! What new things can I try this year...? I look through my seed packets and photos and think about how I can improve.



I contemplate crop rotation, trellising, and plant compatibility. And every spring, regardless of the plan I have sketched out, it always ends up pretty random when I'm planting. I seem to just let my intuition take over and abandon the original plan. I try to write in what was actually planted where, as though it will shed some light on future decisions, but I rarely refer back to it. It's funny, because this has been my process for the last 20 years.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page