top of page

Building a community garden

One of my proudest accomplishments started out as a way to deter the riffraff in the neighborhood from partying in the vacant lot near my house in Denver. Tony, the neighbor that lived next door to the party lot knew that I was a gardener and suggested that we build a community garden. After obtaining permission from the land owners, I set about the neighborhood with fliers in hand to find volunteers and potential members. The turnout was amazing and a true sense of community began..


It took several weekends to dig water lines, build fences and turn plots. We solicited a local tree trimming company to donate bark and mulch for our pathways and everyone pitched in their time and talents. Some of us even learned new skills, like how to set fence posts.







Eventually, we reclaimed some palettes and built compost bins, we bought a picnic table and message board and built frames around the plots. Each year the community garden blossomed with new additions, including a bee hive! Little by little, the garden became a lush sanctuary in the middle of the city. The little lilac sapling grew and bloomed, the front flower beds matured and loyal gardeners grew perennial herbs. We built a community pumpkin patch for the spreading squash that couldn't be contained in a small plot and had harvest parties. Learning tips and tricks from other gardeners was especially rewarding.


I will certainly miss our beautiful Historic Montclair Community Garden and my wonderful gardening pals, but who knows, once I get my new home garden in shape, I might ask the church in my neighborhood if they would like to put that huge lawn to better use.





64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page